There are five species of genus
Escherichia, which consist of E. blattae, E. coli, E. fergusonii, E. hermanii, and
E. vulneris. Among of these,
Escherichia coli is the most common isolate associated with diseases, it is the
main causative agent of UTIs.(6,8)

 E. coli is commonly colonize
large intestine in humans and can be
found in animal feces. To date, Escherichia
coli can be classified to eight types based on their mechanisms of diseases
including: (enteropathogenic E. coli (EPEC), enterohaemorrhagic E. coli (EHEC), enterotoxigenic E.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

coli (ETEC), enteroinvasive E. coli
(EIEC; including Shigella), enteroaggregative E. coli (EAEC) and diffusely adherent E. coli (DAEC)) those causing diarrheal diseases, while uropathogenic
E. coli (UPEC) and neonatal
meningitis E. coli (NMEC) are the
most common extraintestinal isolates  (8,9).